13 Mayıs 2012 Pazar

29 Weeks Pregnant

To contact us Click HERE
So I need to start by saying, I think in my "If You Won't Say It, I Will" post, I successfully made everyone who's ever spoken to me, feel like they were the culprit inspiration for the post... You are not.

I wasn't trying to make anyone feel bad. And I wasn't trying to send any secret messages to anyone. I was just talking myself through a bunch of issues.

Honestly (and sadly) most of the VBAC/c-section statements I was working through, were made by medical staff that weren't in a position to make any sort of recommendations to me. People who may feel they were knowledgeable on the situation, but in actuality are just not in a place to know. Nurses, or non-OBGYN doctors, sonogram technicians, and the like.
And then the other general pregnancy annoying statements, usually came from grocery store encounters with strangers.
So unless you actually remember saying "Your pelvis is too small" (which I don't think you did, because the student health center doctor inspired that one) or some other specific statement I wrote about, then please know I wasn't implying it was you. But thank you for being concerned for my feelings. I appreciate it.


So, Week 29.

How did it go.

Pretty Well overall.



It took about two days for my muscles to stop being sore after my Chiropractor appointment, and after they chilled out, I felt much "less pregnant" and didn't feel overwhelmed by my bigness anymore. So that was a huge relief. (I have another appointment tonight, so I'm expecting a similar experience, but at least I am ready this time.)

So physically I felt pretty good this week. My hands and feet still aren't swelling. (yay) I'm getting up and down pretty easily still. Still not too hungry. (Well I had one hungry afternoon.) Sleeping it self is not bad. However, for a while now I get achey in my sleep. Particularly the hip I'm laying on. I think the relaxin makes them hate having weight pressing on them, but I have to sleep on them. A conundrum.
The only real sad thing this week was I had to send the hubby out, to get some embarrassing denomination of wipes, that make me feel like an old lady. If you know what I mean, then please join me in a moment of silence for my bum.

The belly strangely seems to be back down an inch. I'm sure bloating and having just eaten play a lot into my measurements.
I decided to take this week's photo wearing the same outfit I wore at 30 Weeks with J. (I didn't have the same pants anymore, so I wore my blue leggings, which I pretend are jeggings normally just worn with dresses/tunics.) I thought it would be fun to compare more exactly in the same clothes. Once I saw the photos I don't feel like I can really even attempt to compare them. My belly is a totally different shape this time. But its fun to see that so clearly.



Food. Still not excited about it. Although I think just yesterday I figured out, by eating a turkey sandwich covered in cucumber slices, that I think I would be much more into garden-fresh-type meals. I think I've been trying too much totally cooked tasting foods, and in fact would be much more interested in salads and the like. Because that cucumber tasted outstanding! So I'm going to try and menu plan up a bit of that action for Week 30. (I have a hard time using fresh produce in a timely manner. So I'm a little intimidated. But also excited to eat it!) (I wish I had a magic always-in-season garden that I didn't have to maintain, but could just go get stuff from!) (Don't we all!?)

Here I am laughing because Blake just called me a sexy carrot. (The orange shirt)
Emotions. I will say I've been doing better. I spent the majority of the week feeling good and maybe even normal. But my hope of making it one week without crying, was crushed just two days short of Week 30. (Dang it! So close!)
I still can't tell which way the baby is facing. And I thought I felt hiccups up high. And I felt them during a sleepless night with J, who was up coughing most the night, while Blake was working late trying to get a deadline completed. So I got overwhelmed. And mad. I just want to be able to feel secure in something. And not knowing if her head is down, is not good for my sanity. I haven't been able to keep myself from worrying that she is gonna refuse to put her head down, and that I will just have to walk myself up to the c-section table this time. (Last time I was wheeled there in labor, so I'm more emotionally ok with that idea. The idea of walking myself in, just kills me.)
I have an checkup on Friday, so I'm hoping she will feel her head down. But I'm worried she won't.(And if she doesn't I'm worried I will make a total fool of myself by crying and begging her to make her head get down. Which is just silly pregnant nonsense.) Please pray this baby will quit flipping around so much and feel happy to dance more in place (the head-down-place.)

Spiritually. I'm trying to work out how to trust God with this whole thing. I know it seems weird, but its not just a c-section or VBAC. Its a really deep battle for my heart. Its a really hard journey for me to get something into my heart. But I don't know what it is. I mean other than "faith."
I'm worried that if I don't figure out the right way to put this in God's hands, I will end up permanently distrusting Him forever. And obviously I want to avoid that. I know it sounds over dramatic. It sounds that way to me too. But that's where I am at. And I am trying to get to a place where I can know He is good no matter what. I hate that its so hard for me.

J's been really cute and cuddly this week. Volunteering many hugs and kisses. Talking to the baby a lot. Giving her hugs and kisses. She's been starting to say her words with this paused upward inflection at the end, which is cracking me up -- she sounds like she's trying to be Italian.
She's starting to just naturally know its almost time for Blake to come home, she starts looking for him out the door or window and saying things like "Oh Daddy, Where are you?" Which is really cute and sweet. (But I do start to feel bad if she starts doing this too soon, because then she starts getting sad if he doesn't come home fast enough for her.)
When he gets home, she immediately wants him to take her outside ("owside") to go get the mail and then play for a bit in the fresh air. The other day they were outside playing in the landscaping rocks, and they picked out the smallest smoothest one and called it "Baby Rock" and they brought it in with them. Now she will see it and just refer to it as "Baby." (I have to watch her with it though, she will put it in her mouth! Which totally scares me. Not sure if she would hurt her teeth or try and swallow it, its just the right size to where its small enough that she could, but big enough that it would be very bad. So I keep it up on the table most the time. She seems happy to just say hi to it.)


Our Trip to the Park:
We had to go through this tunnel to get to the slide I'm hoping these toddler antics help put me into labor this time! Do you know how silly I feel dragging this belly through here? I barely fit! This has gotta be good for labor starting!



 Wee!

 This is the face I get now when I say "Say Cheese"



She was a total dare devil and climbed the slide (like up the slide, not the stairs.) Its a tall slide!




As well as went down this slide headfirst -- no fear!





30 Weeks Pregnant

To contact us Click HERE
What a week!
We spent a lot of it at the hospital.



Those park photos---

from last week---were taken on Tuesday, which was technically the first day of week 30.




J had been a little bit wheezy starting Monday, and that's not too weird for her, she kinda wheezes sometimes with colds and things.  So on Monday when I would use the nebulizer (a.k.a. "Monster Mask") she responded to it really well.  Tuesday she had a really runny nose, kinda watery eyes, and was still wheezy.  I was starting to think she had some intense outdoor allergies, or possibly was responding to something she ate with a new allergy.  (She's allergic to dairy, and then last week she got hives from kiwi (how weird is that?))  So I was starting to panic thinking that she was becoming allergic to the whole universe.  By Wednesday she was coughing a lot, wheezing to the point of being whiney and upset, and the monster mask wasn't doing anything at all.  I had tried benadryl during the day, still thinking she was having crazy allergies.   It seemed like she was most wheezy after she ate.  So I was starting to worry about whether everything she was eating was safe to eat.  And I was starting to really worry about the fact that her wheezing wasn't helped by anything that used to help.

By about 4 pm on Wednesday I was so emotionally drained it was outrageous.  I was feeling like I gave her allergies with my genetics, or my pregnancy eating, or with a traumatic delivery, or using too much chemicals in some way in her life.  (My chiropractor's thoughts are very all-natural, and he had shared them at this group meeting a couple days earlier.  I was starting to feel weighed down by my inability to make perfect choices, because there is no definition of perfect.  It's different according to every person you talk to---how am I supposed to choose?)

On top of that, I was physically tired.  I hadn't slept as well while J was sick, and I didn't get any rest during the day on Wednesday since she couldn't nap feeling like she did.  By the time she went to bed, I had one of my emotional break downs.  I let "the usual" take the forefront of my emotional freak out: "I don't know which way the baby is pointing, I don't know how this delivery will go, I don't think I have it in me to make it through this..."  But let's be honest, I was just as freaked out about J's health and my frustration at not knowing how to best care for her.  I needed a mental break from that because I spent the whole day trying to hold it together, while listening to her wheeze.

I didn't know what the best plan of action would be for her.  The last time she was very wheezy and we took her to the ER in IL, they basically just gave her a neb treatment and sent us on our way.  (Which was exactly what we were doing.)  So I wasn't sure if we really needed to bring her in.
Well J woke up pretty upset a couple hours after going to bed.  We tried one more med we had from our previous ER visit in IL.  She hates that medicine and she proceeded to throw up everywhere.  After she threw up I felt like, yeah, we need to bring her in.  Now it's about midnight.

We got dressed and got in the car.  She threw up again on the way.  I don't condone this, but I was so freaked out by the way she was throwing up that I just took her out of the car seat and held her for the 6 mins left of the car ride.  After that she settled down and stopped throwing up, and just rested on me.
 When we got to the ER, all of a sudden I felt really calm.  (Which is the exact opposite of the time we ran her there before.)  I just was filled with a lot of peace.

Nothing about it was easy, especially for poor J.  In the ER they take their temperature in the bottom, and you can imagine that's the last place J would have wanted a thermometer.  (And they needed to take her temp more than once while we were there.)  She also had her blood drawn, her ears looked in, a chest X-ray, each side of her nose swabbed, a shot, and a lot of looking over by quite a few people.  She was upset during most of it, but she recovered well in the downtime moments between the stuff.  I'd say she handled herself quite well.  And, surprisingly, I was handling the stress of her being so sad really well.

The test results came back and told us she had Influenza A as well as RSV.

I know God was holding me up with His peace because instead of feeling freaked out I felt really relieved.  With all my worrying earlier that she was allergic to everything, I was really happy to hear she had a virus---because that's just temporary.  I also felt really glad to hear the doctor tell us that we had acted exactly the way he would have recommended, trying the neb for just as long as we did at home before coming in.  It was so relieving to hear I wasn't under or over reacting, but just functioning in the proper way.

They then said we would need to check into the hospital.  That took me a moment to take in, because I was surprised---for some reason I just didn't think that would happen.  But after it sunk in (and I said "Okay Jesus, it's up to you to help us afford this with our crazy insurance, and having a baby, and still having a mortgage plus rent."  And really just set that down in His hands.)  After that I felt really happy to be sent upstairs.  The days before this had been so exhausting, feeling like I was trying so hard to make all these hard decisions and be "the grown up."  So I was excited to have a large staff there to "be in charge," to "be the grown up" for me, to have someone else to support us in the small scary choices---the weight was off my shoulders.

The last two nights I hadn't slept well, wondering if she was breathing well (and that was even before her wheezing was very noticeable) so I was very happy to have her oxygen monitored by people who were fully awake  while I got to sleep---I felt really safe.

They decided on which types of meds to put in her breathing treatments, and were doing those about every 3 hours.  They switched it up every so often, working with what she responded to best.  They also gave her some steroids to help keep her lungs open, as well as some Tamiflu for the fact she tested positive for the flu.  (The doctor said J wasn't really showing any signs of flu---perhaps because she had the vaccine for it, she had it but didn't actually get sick from it---but that we should give her the Tamiflu just to be safe.  Made sense to us.)  They also kept her on oxygen most the time, especially during the first night and much of the first day.  (And then on and off the rest of the stay.)  Poor J hated the little nose tubing, but once we got her to sleep she left it alone.  The second night we just kept a larger hose type thing (kinda like the Monster Mask) blowing oxygen at her face, which she was okay with.

If I had tried to prepare myself for this trip to the hospital, I never could have.  If I knew about the fact that it was coming, it would have been emotional turmoil for me.  But in the moment I was so at peace, I was happy, I was grateful.

It was a window into this pregnancy and the upcoming delivery.  It's so hard for me now, because I know it's coming and I don't fully know how to prepare.  Sometimes climbing the mountain is easier than getting ready to climb the mountain just because you are in the moment, and that's where God is able to meet you, here and now.

So not only did God meet me in helping me handle a situation that on paper would have made me just nuts (admitting my first baby in the hospital) with total peace, He also used it to show me how He and I will handle the very thing that's actually been making me nuts (having another baby come out of me).  If I will let go and trust Him with it, even though I have the knowledge that it's looming (unlike this hospital trip) I can be in that much peace---in the moment.  (So I guess I need to quit staring at the delivery mountain, and get on with my life-stuff mountains.)


The first night in the hospital I didn't sleep much.  I shared the grownup-sized crib with J, sleeping on my side next to her.  As the staff came in to give her her breathing treatments, it would wake me up.  (She did awesome and slept through it.  But I would be awake.)  Since I am never awake that much during the middle of the night while still laying down, it gave me the chance to feel "Little Miss #2" doing her nighttime thing.

For a while now, I've been debating if she really is all that active---during the day I just feel her nuzzle up to cozy herself every now and again.  But during one of my wake-ups that first night, I was shocked to feel what she was up to.  She was going to TOWN.  In my bleary eyed dreamy state I was envisioning her little legs just sticking straight out of my belly and literally walking the both of us off the bed on her own accord.  I can't believe I normally sleep through that!

The second night we spent there I must have been REALLY tired, because I slept through all J's breathing treatments.  I remember opening my eyes one time to see the door close as one person left.  And I happily closed them thinking "Wow, I'm still sleeping!"

My mom came to be with us during all this, so having her there to stay with J gave Blake and I the chance to still make it to our prenatal appointment on Friday morning.
The baby was head down!  Hurray hurray!  What a relief.  (No tears required!)
(I was also told that until 36 weeks, it's not really a big deal which way she wants to face.  Of course, you know me, I'd like her to stay this way from here on out!)  (I was also told if she tries to turn back around, we would try and turn her back at 36 weeks, which made me feel better.  But then I was also told "your baby knows what to do."  I'm sure that's more true than I know.)  Blake and I were even shown how to feel the baby's body parts with our hands on my belly, to try and help my sanity.  (I had looked up info on how to do it online and in books, but without having experienced hands to say for sure what I was feeling, it was just confusing.)  So that was really cool and wonderful.

Since then I've really been able to console myself by just randomly laying down (including in the locker room after swimming!) and feel that, yes, in fact she's still head down.  One time I was feeling her head and she squirmed away from me---I have to say it was one of the strangest feelings!  Totally realizing that there is something inside me---that in fact is not me---I knew that, but feeling it like that was bizarre, cool, and shocking.  (She was probably saying, "Moo-oooom!  Leave me alone!  How many times are you going to squeeze my head!?")

Anyway, at the appointment her heart rate was just great at 130.  And my uterus was exactly the right size for my weeks.  (I find this exciting since it always measured 2 bigger with J---which is normal and fine, but we all recall my hopes for a smaller newborn this time, so the news sounds promising to me.)
I also got a lot of reassuring answers to questions I had, regarding my "what ifs" of planning if I were to need another C-section.  So that cleared up a lot of mental space for me.  I was starting to feel like I needed to do more preparation across the board, but after the talk I felt very prepared for the "in cases."
So I left feeling so much better about all things baby.

J ended up getting discharged from the hospital Friday night!  The doctor thought for sure we would need to be there for five days but J turned around so fast that he sent us home after just two nights and days, with some medicine and a neb treatment routine.  He was really surprised at how fast she was responding.  Honestly, I didn't feel surprised.  J seemed so good to me.  Plus, it just kinda made sense to my heart in the same way I had been feeling so at peace with being there.  We know it was all God's hand on her (and us), and we thank you for your prayers!

Monday morning we went to a follow-up appointment, and she was still looking great---a small wheeze just in the back.  And coughing (but coughing is good for now, to clear stuff out.)  So he thought in about a week stuff should clear up.  So be praying for that.

I had some disappointment at our follow-up because I was given the clinic's statement on vaccines.  It basically says while the parents have a right to choose on the matter, the clinic HIGHLY recommends complying with the standard vaccine schedule, plus a lot of stuff about how they feel very strongly about it.  And it has every doctor's name at the clinic on there.  (And this is the town's only clinic, so that's every ped in town.)

With J we had done a delayed schedule, and we have yet to give her the chickenpox one.  The doctor spent time---more than once---talking to me about this.  I was disappointed by that because at our last clinic in IL we were given a lot more space on the subject, with a lot less (basically no) pressure to comply to a set schedule.  I'm not wanting to do things differently with baby #2, and I am not looking forward to the clinic's stance on that.  So I'm not sure if I will want to find a pediatrician out of town because that would mean a 45 min drive, which would suck.  We'll see.  I know ultimately it's up to us, but I don't like having to work against the clinic for it, I'd rather be the the same page as our doctor.

Anyway, as for me and baby:
I hadn't been getting to the pool much the week before J got sick---mainly due to my emotional turmoil about it "making the baby flip head-up" (with my belly hanging down the whole 30 mins, she has more space to roam and flop.)  (Which I think was pure paranoia---but there was one day where it seemed to be true, but I don't know.)
With J getting sick, I hadn't gone at all this past week either!  Then when you add in all the convenience food I ate during our hospital stay, the pounds went on faster than I want.  But I'm not too worried, and I'm not getting upset with myself---for heaven's sake, that was the last thing on my mind right then.  Plus, some of it was bloat that went back down since we've been home a couple days.  But I do feel like I need to be very intentional with my diet and physical activity this week to try and make up for it.  (And I'm not scared of swimming anymore, I think the baby will keep her head down.)

Since my belly shrunk an inch last week (at least on the day I measured), it's back up to the week before's size.  Meaning my belly is currently 10 inches bigger than before this baby was given to us.  Isn't that incredible?  I'm still amazed at how God designed us to be able to do that.  (Once J was born, and I saw my belly sans baby, it didn't seem like my belly would ever recover, but it really did.  I mean, of course it was a bit different but, seriously, how it ever went from both extremes seems like a total miracle to me.  I can't believe skin and everything else is that incredible!)



Anyway, my belly feels heavier lately.
On Sunday my mom sent Blake and I out to spend the day together while she watched J.  (We skipped church since we didn't want to spread the germs.)
I felt pretty pregnant that day.  For one part of our day we walked around an art museum, and while I will say I think I stood up to the challenge better this pregnancy than I would have during my last, I got tired after a couple hours and had to take my rings off because my hands were starting to swell.  So we took a rest outside by a really pretty water feature for a little bit.

To be honest with you, the day out was kinda emotional for me.  I'm really struggling to like it here in Iowa.  I try to keep an open mind, but I usually just end up disappointed with what it has to offer.  So spending the day out around town and in Des Monies (the place to go if you need something Ames doesn't have = a 45 min drive) just kinda made me homesick for Illinois and what I know.


I'm feeling the baby more and more now, waking or not.  She's getting stronger and stronger---making bulges on my belly, or drastic jumps, or rhythmic pulses.  I think J felt her move for the first time on Monday while we were snuggling.  We talked about the baby and she seemed to connect the dots, I think.

There were also two days this week where "Little Miss #2" was seriously karate chopping the depths of my pelvis!  The internal side of both my "bathroom spots" was being ambushed, and I felt like I should have earned some kind of medal for keeping it together---there was one time in particular when I was grocery shopping where I felt shocked and amazed that I didn't just have a "clean up on isle 8" moment!  I'm going to give my bladder a trophy!

Speaking of snuggling, J's still nursing.  Before getting sick she would just nurse for a couple mins before nap and bedtime.  Since getting sick, she's been nursing pretty often during the day again.  (I've actually been really grateful for this, as it was one of my only real defenses for calming her down at the hospital when things got really hard for her, as well as the fact that she can get some colostrum now to help her immune system fight this stuff.)  But it's really bringing on the Braxton-Hicks contractions.  I've been given the go-ahead on their safety, so no one worry.  I'm not worried.  In fact I kinda get excited to have them, since I didn't have any actual contraction sensations before I was induced last time.  (When they monitored me pre-labor, the machine registered a little something, but I couldn't feel a thing.)  So I like that my body is making good real contractions this time (as far as you can call Braxton-Hicks real, but you know what I mean).  Happy thoughts.  But I will say, emotionally... I'm pretty antsy when nursing J anymore.  It's a lot harder to do while pregnant.  (I keep hoping that won't extend into the first feedings of Little Miss #2, that the antsy feels just go away instantly and don't taper off slowly---that would be a sad thing for me.)


Anyway, I think that's my week.
It was pretty big.  (So was this post, thanks for reading!)




Hiccups

To contact us Click HERE
So you know how before I was freaking out about whereI would feel the baby's hiccups,


because I was sure feeling them up high meant she was breach?


And you know how I was told the baby is head down on Friday?
And how Blake and I both were shown how to feel her head?
I keep feeling hiccups up high again... but we feel her head down low.


Weird.


I googled, and apparently many women with head-down babies (confirmed with Ultrasound) feel hiccups in their ribs. Crazy.

I copy and pasted this from one forum, because I never even thought of this, and it makes a lot of sense to me in regards to a lot of things in this pregnancy.

"such a great question! my boy is definitely head down (confirmed again via u/s 2 weeks ago) and i feel his hiccups ONLY up high!!! i am pretty sure i feel his little bottom "bouncing" with each hiccup. i've felt VERY little down low this entire pregnancy ... and today i was wondering if having had a previous csection has left some of my lower area more "numb", if that makes sense. for instance, i am still numb around the area of my incision ... 10 years later! i constantly feel him up high ... moving almost nonstop most days, wiggling, squirming, pushing, shifting ... but maybe a few times total have i felt anything down lower."


Anyway, I found that so intriguing and insightful I thought I would post it.

Little Tiny Happinesses

To contact us Click HERE
Does anyone else have a hard time fitting the big store sized bottle of mouthwash in their bathroom?
I always have, in either house we've lived in.
It doesn't fit in the medicine cabinet, and and I don't like having it under the sink -- not very baby proof.

So I wanted to find a travel bottle to keep a smaller portion of mouthwash in, that will actually fit in our medicine cabinet. (So I could put the big bottle away in the linen closet.)

I also wanted to do the same thing with some olive oil. That's what I use to take off my mascara. (Works perfect -- all natural and good for the skin!)

And well, I have this thing where I basically can not separate form and function --- if it functions it needs good form, if it has nice form I need it to function. So I didn't want just any old travel bottle. I wanted a cute travel bottle. I was just keeping my eyes open in the sample and travel sized isles of stores, but hadn't seen much cuteness.

Then during a walk through Hobby Lobby I chanced down the isle that has fancy sand for projects. And they have these little plastic bottles that are intended for sand art, for like $0.75 - $0.99 a piece. They were prefect! Just the right size and cute shapes!

So now my medicine cabinet functions with form!

Just a little smile for me every morning and night.


I love little things like this. It brings me more joy than it probably should! :)

Seriously,How pretty does that olive oil look!? mmm.


*Now I just need to figure out something to hold my coconut oil. (I use it for moisturizer. Super good for you!) 
That one's more tricky because its solid at coolish room temperate -- so it needs a large mouth opening. So far I haven't come up with a good solution for that.




31 Weeks Pregnant

To contact us Click HERE
This week I can't remember how many weeks I am anymore. I keep having to look it up on my calendar. I guess its like how I can't remember how old I am now -- I just can't retain big numbers I guess. :) Or maybe I focused so hard for so long, that I used up all my memory cells. :P




I'm definitely feeling a little pregnancy burn out. Mainly in regards to eating.



I've sworn off sugar till she's born. Like I mean I'm really not having any of the white stuff at all, (I was ok with having tiny amounts of sugar before, but now I'm down to none!) now that baby is about to be putting on an average of 1/2 lb a week. (I'm hoping to keep that number accurate, not become an inflated variation.)
So let me tell you --- I've spent a large amount of my time this week talking about all the things I plan on eating in July. I'm starting to freak Blake out. Here are just some of the things he has been listening to: I need to have one of those grocery store cake sized chocolate chip cookies waiting for me when this baby comes out. I also want to eat: banabread. Then I start listing off everything I can think of... J's bday cake. New baby needs a bday cake. I may need a very late bday cake....and Blake probably does as well. Frozen lemonaid. And basically everything I've ever seen posted on pinterest dessert wise. (Oh my gosh, everyone, stop pinning awesome desserts already!! :) )
I'm either going to be packing on "pregnancy pounds" the month after I have the baby....or more likely I will not be eating everything I day dream about on an hourly basis lately. (But don't tell me that right now!)
Actually I suspect that when it comes down to it, I will think this stuff is too sweet since I honestly think frozen bananas blended in milk is a milkshake nowadays. But has that stopped me from whining? No. Has it stopped me from hanging the sugary sweet candy carrot on a stick in front of my face in hopes of lasting to the end? No. I need something to keep my tooth off the sweets!

When it comes down to it though, my real problem with food is that I just don't have a taste for anything for most this pregnancy. Its so different than last time! (When I had a taste for everything!) I don't know if its mental -- with all my intense attempts this time around. Or if it is just how this pregnancy is. But it's been really trying this week for me. It makes grocery shopping, or the thought of it make me want to throw grown up toddler tantrums.
I just don't want to eat anything, unless it is a smoothie or a burrito. (Weird I know.) (A burrito from Pancheros, since we don't have Chipolte in Ames.) If I can't have the burrito, I only can stand the idea of a smoothie.
(Although I have a feeling that Week 32 is about to be filled with Chips and Salsa...an extension of the burrito.)
I was pleased to find out that if I throw some white beans in my smoothies, I can't even tell they are there. So I feel a bit better about my protein intake with that included. My smoothies have also had a pretty good amount of homemade peanut butter in there.
I've also had eggs for breakfast maybe 50% of the time this week. (Not that I really like them.)

Other than food, I'm feeling pretty great. No real pregnancy pains or anything. (I think seeing a Chiropractor is taking away all my pregnancy hip pains that I was used to! Nice!)
Only tricky things right now are just rolling over in bed, or getting out of bed. But I've figured out that for rolling over, its much easier to roll over with the belly under me, than over me, and that makes the whole process that much simpler. (I can't believe I didn't figure that out last time I was pregnant!) (I roll a lot at night.)


So remember that weight I wasn't to happy to have gained so fast, from our hospital stay last week? It disappeared. I was really surprised about that. I wasn't trying to make that happen. Actually I didn't even think that was possible. I always kinda thought once the pregnant pound was put on, it wasn't coming off until the baby was out.
The fact that it went away keeps making me feel weird --- like I keep second guessing myself on if I did that on purpose, and if I am "pregorexic." (Learned that word like 3 years ago from Tyra Banks! lol.)  I know I'm not. Its just that I seem to endlessly scold myself anymore. So why not try to freak myself out about one more thing? Why should I be able to eat healthy this time, without chastising myself for the opposite end of the spectrum? Its ridiculous! I need to give myself some space! (Sheesh, Lydia, a pregorexic mind would not be adding stuff into smoothies to make sure there are more calories, you are totally fine, and taking care of your baby. And lets not even talk about the calories in one of those huge burritos that you've eaten like 3 of this week! That's so not pregorexic food! Chill out brain! Leave the poor girl alone, will ya!?)

Anyway, my belly has grown like a half inch or an inch this week. I couldn't decide. Depends on how I hold my belly, and I couldn't tell what was normal, if I was sticking it out or holding it in. lol.



Swimming. I'm definitely big enough now that getting in the water feels awesome. I've got that whole "weightless" belly phenomenon happening for me now -- its fantastic. I even feel "speedy" in the water now. I'm so not at all --- never was, the other swimmers have always whizzed by me. But whether its true or not, I feel like right now I can swim faster than I can walk --- due to my fabulously unpregnant feeling baby bump, being held up by water.
I can't recommend being in some form of water enough to any pregnant lady! You don't have to swim laps, just get in and enjoy! I don't see how you could be dissapointed!

This week J and I took a just-shy-of-a-mile walk around the neighborhood. I was really enjoying it -- the weather was perfect. But about 3/4ths of the way through, I started having some pretty strong braxton hicks. They were not only uncomfortable, but I could feel the discomfort down in "the birth canal." I didn't know wether to be excited about it (thinking about how I surely will go into labor on my own this time) or freaked out because I was only 31 weeks. So I would take breaks to try and keep them from being unsafe. J would say "break?" every time I stopped the stroller. It was pretty funny.
I haven't taken any more walks since then. Partly because it freaked me out, but the choice was also aided by the weather being chilly and rainy nearly every day after that. I'm gonna double check about it at my appointment this week. I haven't had any Braxton Hicks apart from walking this week -- just a couple super light ones when nursing. (I'm weaning J back down to only before sleeping now that she's feeling better again.)



J's starting to put words into sentences this week. I'm impressed. She went from very few, very easy sentences, to trying a lot of different sentences. They still aren't complete, but they are great.  Her best ones are from songs or stories. "Mary had lamb" "No monkies bed. Bump head." But she also is trying to reply in sentence form. At lunch yesterday she dropped some food and said "I dropped it!" and I asked her "what did you drop?" And she sqiunched up her face in thought, and said "I dropped..." face squinted up even tighter but just couldn't finish her whole thought with words. But I could tell she was so close. (That was the first time she responded to a question with more than just the answer --- with the full sentence opener.) It was adorable.

(yeah, that's eye shadow in her hand and smeared on her shirt)

This week I also got her a pillow. I wasn't sure how old kids should be before you give them a pillow, so I had held off before. But at the hospital she had one and loved it, so I got her one for home. (Plus I know a lot of kids her age are going into toddler beds with pillows, so I knew it would be fine. I'm just not ready for the toddler bed yet (I like the crib confinement aspect, no room escaping) -- I'm gonna wait till #2 is a few months old and needs the crib.) Anyway, I sewed her a flowered pillow case. and she LOVES it. She talks about the flowers on it so happily. And whenever I tell her I'm going to lay her down now, she says "Pillow!?" all excited. It makes her sleep process a really cheerful one. Its great!



She's really into kisses ("Tishes") right now. She gives kisses to pretty much everything. And we have "kisses wars" where she will grab my hand and give my fingers a kiss, and then I kiss her back, and we go back and forth over and over till we are both laughing too much to continue.

We also had a really cute sonogram-looking-session together, where we talked about the baby and how cute she was and how J wanted to give her "tishes."
And that was followed by dancing together to a song while J looked delighted beyond words. (She is such a music lover!) (Part of her name meaning is "lady of song" -- I feel like God knew exactly who she would be.)

She's also been taking potatoes in the pantry and putting them in the crockpot in the pantry and "cookin." Too cute I tell you!

Anyway, I may spend an hour on J if I don't stop.

I'm feeling little miss #2 get stronger all the time. And wow does she get a lot of hiccups. As I'm typing she is going through her third round of the day. Unrelated to hiccups, I can feel her but rise up under my right ribs all the time. Sometimes she punches my left hip bone and sends a jolt down my leg. And sometimes she does this crazy something down there, that I just cannot explain, but I told Blake it feels like she is biting me -- I doubt that's what it is, but I can't figure anything more descriptive.

This week I've been so much more calm about this baby's delivery. It's really helped me to stay calm learning how to feel that her head is down.
And I've been thinking about it, and oddly enough, having the total freak out fest over her possibly staying breech, gave me a break from my previous fear of not going into labor. Somehow in the midst of everything I've stopped worrying about that. (No promises for my mental state the end of June.)
So in a way, something that seemed just completely horrible for me mentally, was actually a blessing. Because I never saw myself getting over the not-going-into-labor fear until I was actually in labor.





I've been pondering these verses. (Well it would be more accurate to say God has been prompting me to ponder these verses, as they have been placed in front of me more often in the last week than they have in years):


He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak. Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength. They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint. —Isaiah 40:29–31


I've been getting a bit irritated while running into these verses so often this week. Because well, I don't know if I feel like it is true. I feel emotionally drained, nearly all of the time.
Which is pretty disappointing, when coming up against this verse.

But... after enough run ins with this verse...
I decided to look up the definition of the word "weary"...
to see if I really am weary or not...
and well, it means: exhausted in strength.

Still felt that way, so I then went on to look up a bunch of words:

  • "Exhaust" means to consume entirely (so empty a vacuum is created); or to tire completely. 
  • Two definitions of "strength" that stood out to me were: "Power to resist force." "Power of resisting attack."

And in looking up "faint" some of the definitions besides the obvious"pass out" are:

  • "lacking courage and spirit" 
  •  "lacking strength or vigor" 
  • "hardly perceptible"
In reading those I was struck by how I don't feel any of that.

  • I'm not so empty that a vacuum has been formed. I get tired and cry but, I recover. I'm not an endless void of nothing, I'm actually quite full of hope. (It just scares me.)
  • As terrified as I have been, I've never felt without courage and spirit. I think I've had to have more courage in the last 8 months (actually even longer) than I ever have in my life. Not just in submitting to the call I felt in my heart to have this specific baby that God wanted to give us --- and facing the fears that come with that. But also in trusting God for our entire future: Blake's job, Blake's graduation, a new place to live, our old place we used to live in needing to sell, the idea of paying for two places we've lived at once on a pretty tight budget, and trusting God to be here with us in a strange new land.
  • As weak as I've felt, I've never seen myself as without strength. I think I've had to resist more force, and even attacks, recently than I may have ever imagined having to for any reason. (Maybe I'm not that creative, in the subject matter...but yeah why would I imagine this stuff?)
  • And nothing about me during this pregnancy, and massive life transition, has been "hardly perceptible." It's been hard as all get out, but within that I guess I have become vibrant, not faint.

So, when I break it down (and don't just have an emotional response to how that verse makes me feel in passing) I realize how incredibly good God has been to me, in making this verse more real and more accurate for me than it's ever been before.
And, wow, I am really grateful He started prompting me to examine it, hold it, and test it --- instead of run from it.
Because now after looking it through I feel even more renewed.
I'm starting to see that in fact, I have been soaring,
its just that soaring might not be as easy as it sounds. It may just take a lot of muscle for that eagle to stay up there in the wind. But doesn't change God's promises.



Just Fair Warning...

To contact us Click HERE
So...
You know....
I've been a bit....
mmmm....
Determined
(and/or intimidated)
during this pregnancy.

Yeah.
I know.
I have.
Its kinda annoying.
But its where I am.

So here's the thing.
One of my biggest, main, determinations is to give myself every possible chance to go into labor on my own this time.
(Well because, that's basically my only option other than c-section. They don't really induce scared uteri.)


From all my (tons of) reading,
I've learned that labor is really, really contingent upon emotions.
Feeling safe and unwatched is a huge component in the process.

So, since I want to try and give myself the chance to feel safe and unwatched, I'm gonna need to take a social media break.
I think I will still post blog posts. (Not totally decided.) (If I don't post them, I will at least write them up, and post later on.)
But Starting in June (I'll be 37 weeks and full term by then.)
I'm gonna avoid Facebook at all costs.

Its nothing personal.
Its just when you don't officially "know" your body will start to labor (I was induced last time), hearing people ask "Have you had the baby yet?" "Anything yet?"is just too much to process.
So I'm just going to take a break.


I thought I would tell you today, on May 1st, so you could have an entire month to prepare yourself.(If you wanna send any Facebook well wishes, prayers, happy thoughts, etc. before my leave of absence, I'd love it!) :)

In regards to my leave...if you actually are interested.
I promise that I will come back to Facebook ASAP after the baby is born to let you know she's here. And show you her photos. (If I don't feel up to it, I'll have Blake let you know. Don't worry. You will definitely be informed.)

If you actually are in touch with me outside of Facebook's platform, please please please (I beg you PLEASE) don't ask me anything sounding remotely like "Did you have the baby yet?" --- ever. Please don't ask me if I'm dilated, or having Braxton Hicks, or anything vaguely related to labor. If I have news and I want to share it, I will. I Promise.

Also...
If you are really keeping track. My due date is a bit a of vague idea. (I know, they all are.)
But I don't want you counting on your fingers in June and saying "Hey, wait a minute here..."
As far as my photos and blog goes, I've been counting my weeks according to my own knowledge of when I ovulated. (I charted my cycle, so I knew when it happened.) (If you are interested in the subject matter this book is an awesome resource.)
So I, personally, have my due date as June 26th.
Going off the doctor's little spinning wheel that uses your last period, they gave me a due date of June 29th.
Going off our sonogram, they gave me a due date of July 4th.

So none of those are that far off from each other, its not a big deal. But with having all that in play I may get to go past my "due date" further than you might have in your mind. So don't start panicking if its further into July and I haven't been heard from yet.

(Hopefully this little girl has been taking to heart all my pep-talks about coming out at 38 weeks, but if not, be ready to wait patiently with me.)




*Also, an side, I mentioned to some friends, before I got pregnant, how I intended on lying about my last period's date to give me a bit more leeway on my due date, as some doctors are prone to schedule your repeat c-section on your due date. And I wasn't about to let that happen.
I had it all planned out. 
Because last time with J, I got them to move my due date to the correct day (giving me more time to be pregnant) but it was a little hard to convince them. In the process I was told, "Well we usually don't change the due date unless the sonogram shows the baby is more than a week off the dates."
I thought I would use this to my advantage this time around, and give myself an extra week.
Well, I didn't end up doing that.
I started spotting so early on, (right after I showed up positive on a pregnancy test) that I wouldn't have been able to say I knew I was pregnant with my fake due date, and I wanted to be checked on. So I had to tell the truth! 
But thankfully, for the first time in my entire life I ovulated early instead of really, really late. So I ended up with 3 God-given extra days in the mix. And if we are able to go off the sonogram saying July 4th, even longer. So I'm just gonna put it in His hands and leave it there. I think He's got it planned out.

Healthy Pregnancy

To contact us Click HERE
I've been thinking...

There are so many things that I've learned between my first pregnancy and my second...  All of which have been incredibly helpful for me.  Some of this knowledge has come easily, and some of it has taken a lot of research.  But it is all certainly stuff I plan to share with my girls if they become mommas some day. If I wasn't there to tell them, I would still hope they would have this information there for them.  And really, this information should be readily available to every women who goes through pregnancy.  So the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to make sure to blog it.  I plan to keep it all collected on a specific blog page that I'll add to my title bar, for easy reference.  
Some of it may be new to you, some of it will be old news.  But with the goal of having it all there for my girls one day, I will be blogging everything I can think of, just in case it fades from memory before they need it. If you get something out of it --- well all the better(!) --- I would be thrilled to aid anyone in feeling more healthy and confident in pregnancy and birth.  




So stay tuned for random posts to come on the subject as I think of them. (I'll store them in a more organized fashion on the reference page.)

Pregnancy Diet

To contact us Click HERE
I think most women are aware that we should eat well for our babies, when we are pregnant.

But I know that, for myself, I was not told what eating well for pregnancy actually is until my first baby was already born.  I didn't realize how my eating would directly affect my baby.  I figured she would get the vitamins and I would get the rest.  And I also didn't acknowledge the benefits that eating well would have for myself, either.





I'll readily admit that for my first pregnancy I took on the wrongful attitude of "If I'm gonna gain weight, I'm gonna eat whatever I want... why not!?"  I figured this is my time to enjoy the "best foods around."  And by "best," I meant stuff I enjoyed the most --- which included:

  • Plenty of peanut M&Ms.  (Something along the lines of a large sized bag per week that I would munch on during my work day.)
  • The biggest sized Coke from McDonald's fairly regularly.  I'd get one when they would sell the "Any size for $1" deal.  (I would pat myself on the back for not drinking Diet Coke --- my pre-pregnant drink.)
  • A big Coke Slushy from my grocery store once a week, as my "reward" for grocery shopping.
  • A chocolate milkshake after most my prenatal appointments in celebration of good news.
  • The "Hey Honey, know what sounds so good right now? (11pm)  A brownie batter Blizzard!" craving run.
  • I had no qualms about regularly snacking on oversized bowls of cereal in milk.
  • There were many days of bagels for breakfast, followed by bagels for lunch.
  • A frozen pizza for lunch --- all to myself? --- don't mind if I do (again!).
  • A big bowl of plain white rice and nothing else for lunch (maybe some soy sauce) sounded like health food.
  • Date nights of pasta following bread.
  • And let's not even talk about the last two weeks after my due date... eating like 10 chili cheese dogs per 24 hours.  (I had given up on grocery shopping --- the hubby suggested chili dogs, I was all in... and I was hungrier than ever, at all hours of the day!)
And let me tell you, I know I had added way more than the recommended 300 calories pregnancy addition to my day's worth of calories!  I didn't hold back.  I mean seriously, McDonalds Large Coke has 310 calories alone!  And I know that wasn't all I added to my day.  
I passed my glucose tests just fine.  My midwives never asked me what I was eating; never told me what I should be eating.  No one ever told me to slow down on the weight gain --- it was pretty much on track.  If I'd had the baby at 40 weeks I would have gained 35lbs --- which is at the top of the recommended  range, so it must have looked fine.  (Although those last two post-due date starving weeks I added another 6 lbs.)  People at work would tell me it looked like I was doing well with my weight.  (So I would smile and eat more peanut M&Ms.)  No one thought my baby seemed big, even the sonogram people doing my post due date test.  So basically there was just no attention whatsoever paid to my diet and it's outcome.  
But when my baby was finally out, my midwife asked, "Where were you hiding a 9 pound baby!?"


And... well, I had 41 lbs of baby weight to lose.  (And it was not "all belly," as I would be occasionally told during pregnancy.  It was everywhere!)(Also, you know what?  Technically, I was rocking an overweight BMI before I got pregnant --- so I really should have only gained like 15--25 lbs. instead of the recommended weight gain of 25--35lbs for someone of a healthy weight.  But, surprisingly, no one at my midwives' office ever mentioned that.)
Disclaimer: I know that pregnancy weight gain is an individual thing, and some women may just naturally gain more than the suggested range while eating a very healthy diet, and that's okay.  And these guidelines are just guidelines.  I'm definetly not pointing fingers or attacking anyone for specific pounds gained.  I'm just sharing my experience, which involves drastically different diets from my first pregnancy to my second.  
During my last weeks of pregnancy, as I hauled my huge self slowly around our tiny block, I KNEW I shouldn't be that big.  I could feel it.  I promised myself I would lose more than the baby weight, so that even with our next baby I would never be that big again.  
My daughter's birth was a cesarean birth, after an induction.  And while the c-section was done due to her malposition, it weighed on my mind that perhaps if I had been a healthier weight, or she had been smaller things could have possibly gone better.  And if that could be true, I sure as heck was gonna do better next time around!  
The idea sent me on a hunt to find out if I had somehow caused her to be big, and what could be done about it for Baby #2.  
At my annual appointment, one year after my first daughter's birth, I asked if there is anything I could do to try and have a smaller baby next time?  And I was told, "Watching your carbs is really the main way to control both the mother's weight gain and the baby's birth weight."  I asked something like, "So of course that means sugar is a BIG culprit in weight gain, since it's the most worthless of worthless carbs, right?"And I was told, "Yes.  Mom's body can only process so much sugar, and after that the rest just goes into fattening up the baby."I have since confirmed this school of thought on carbs (and of course sugar) through many difference sources.  
This knowledge, along with the explanation that a baby's birth weight being in the healthy range can aid in a healthy delivery, and what a healthy birth weight can mean for baby (when it's in your means to control) would have been very good to receive at my very first prenatal appointment.  But you live, you learn --- which is why I wanted to do this post.
Disclaimer: I know that women can have perfectly wonderful vaginal births with big babies, without even so much as a tear.  But it does make sense to consider size when preparing to fit something out of a tight space.  And yes, I also acknowledge that genetics do come into play when considering baby's size.  But I've learned that's not the only factor.  And yes, some women can eat what I did and still have a smaller baby than I had.  (Genetics.)  But if you know better, you can do better.  So why not use good information for good, and eat what you should?  

So...  As you can see, I did indeed have a pretty solid amount of sugar during my first pregnancy.  (That McDonald's Coke has 86 grams of sugar all by itself!)  And actually, I nearly depended on carbs for my source of daily calories when you think of all the bread, pasta and cereal I ate.  
This diet needs to be totally reversed.  Carbs need to take a back seat.  And protein needs to come front and center.  Babies are made of protein, it makes sense you should provide them with plenty.  (But this approach to food is a good one to take, pregnant or not!)  

Taking it all into consideration: This time around, I'm trying my hardest to adhere to a sugarless diet.  Since sugar is totally non-nutritional, I know I don't need it.  (I'm not talking natural sugars found in fruit --- those are nutritional.  But you really should be eating more veggies than fruit, when you get down to it!)  And in leaving out those calories coming from sugar, I'm allowing myself more calorie-room in my day to eat good stuff.  I'm finding that it really is so much more filling!  I'm much less hungry this time around --- and I think it's due in large part to my body being satisfied with good things, so it doesn't need to beg me for more food.  
So what am I eating?  


I'm trying my best to adhere to "The Brewer Diet," or a basic variation of it.  

The Diet Basics:

  • Have 80 -- 100 grams of protein a day
  • Eat two eggs per day
  • Limit carbohydrates to whole grains --- This is where the variations come in:  Have no more than 5 servings a day (as suggested by the original Brewer Diet.)  But you can limit further, having only one whole grain a day, down to only 1 serving a week.  
  • Eat at least two dark green vegetables a day.  
  • Eat at least two or three servings of other vegetables a day.  
  • Eat one to two servings of fruit per day.  
  • Eat one source of vitamin C per day. 
  • Eat three to four milk products per day
  • Limit fats to two to three servings

The expanded "Brewer Diet":



1. Milk and milk products --- 4 choices per day
1 cup milk: whole, skim, 1%, buttermilk
1/2 cup canned evaporated milk: whole or skim
1/3 cup powdered milk: whole or skim
1 cup yogurt
1 cup sour cream
1/4 cup cottage cheese: creamed, uncreamed, pot style
1 large slice cheese (1 1/4 oz): cheddar, Swiss, other hard cheese
1 cup ice milk
1 1/2 cup soy milk
1 piece tofu, 3"x3"x 1/2" (4 oz)


2. Calcium replacements --- as needed, if avoiding milk products (2 per soy exchange from group 1)
36 almonds
1/3 cup bok choy, cooked
12 Brazil nuts
1 cup broccoli, cooked
1/3 cup collard greens
1/2 cup kale
2 teaspoons blackstrap molasses
4 oz black olives
1 oz sardines

3. Eggs --- 2 any style, except runny, per day

4. Protein Combinations --- 6 to 8 choices per day
1 oz lean beef, lamb, pork, liver, or kidney
1 oz chicken or turkey
1 oz fish or shellfish
1/4 cup canned salmon or tuna
3 sardines
3 1/2 oz tofu
1/4 cup peanuts or peanut butter
1/8 cup beans + 1/4 cup rice or wheat
(measured before cooking)
beans: soy beans, peas, black beans, kidney beans, garbanzos
rice: preferably brown
wheat: preferably bulgar

1/8 cup brewer's yeast + 1/4 cup rice
1/8 cup sesame or sunflower seeds + 1/2 cup cup rice
1/4 cup rice + 1/3 cup milk
1/2 oz cheese + 2 slices whole wheat bread or 1/3 cup macaroni (dry) or noodles or 1/8 cup beans
1/8 cup beans + 1/2 cup cornmeal
1/8 cup beans + 1/6 cup seeds (sesame, sunflower)
1/2 large potato + 1/4 cups milk or 1/4 oz cheese
1 oz cheese: cheddar, Swiss, other hard cheese
1/4 cup cottage cheese: creamed, uncreamed, pot style

5. Fresh, dark green vegetables --- 2 choices per day
1 cup broccoli
1 cup brussels sprouts
2/3 cup spinach
2/3 cup greens
collard, turnip, beet, mustard, dandelion, kale
1/2 cup lettuce (preferable romaine)
1/2 cup endive
1/2 cup asparagus
1/2 cup sprouts: bean, alfalfa


6. Whole Grains ---  5 choices (or less) per day
1 waffle or pancake made from whole grain
1 slice bread
whole wheat, rye, bran, other whole grain
1/2 roll, muffin, or bagel made from whole grain
1 corn tortilla
1/2 cup oatmeal or Wheatena
1/2 cup brown rice or bulgar wheat
1 shredded wheat biscuit
1/2 cup bran flakes or granola
1/4 cup wheat germ

7. Vitamin C foods --- 2 choices per day
1/2 grapefruit
2/3 cup grapefruit juice
1 orange
1/2 cup orange juice
1 large tomato
1 cup tomato juice
1/2 cantaloupe
1 lemon or lime
1/2 cup papaya
1/2 cup strawberries
1 large green pepper
1 large potato, any style

8. Fats and oils --- 3 choices per day
1 tablespoon butter or margarine
1 tablespoon mayonaise
1 tablespoon vegetable oil
1/4 avocado
1 tablespoon peanut butter++

9. Vitamin A foods --- 1 choice per day
3 apricots
1/2 cantaloupe
1/2 cup carrots (1 large)
1/2 cup pumpkin
1/2 cup winter squash
1 sweet potato

10. Liver --- at least once a week (optional)
4 oz liver
beef, calf, chicken, pork, turkey, liverwurst

11. Salt and other sodium sources --- unlimited
table salt, iodized, to taste
sea salt, to taste
kelp powder, to taste
soy sauce, to taste

12. Water --- unlimited
Drink to quench thirst, but do not force fluids

*See this link for more information on the diet

I'm fully expecting to give birth to a smaller newborn this time but, even if I don't, I won't regret eating healthily because:
  • I will have nourished my baby well.  (If she is smaller, there are many fewer health risks and concerns for babies of average size, compared to babies with a large birth weight.)
  • Physically, I have felt so much better overall throughout this pregnancy than I did last time.  
  • I'm anticipating getting to the end and having much less weight to lose this time, as I am gaining weight much slower this time than last.  
  • I'm cautiously hopeful that healthy-pregnancy-pounds come off faster than sugary-pregnancy-pounds.  (Not sure how true that is, but it's a nice thought.)  :)



* Click here for more of my healthy pregnancy tips


32 Weeks Pregnant

To contact us Click HERE
Is it even true?
I think I made it through an entire week of pregnancy without shedding a tear, and even better --- without freaking out!
And maybe even "more better" (purposefully poor grammar) I didn't even stop to notice this phenomenon until I went to write this post. Which means it was just the natural state of things. Um, it may just be a miracle! A wonderful, wonderful miracle!

Tuesday night I went to my second ICAN meeting (they meet once a month) and I'm gonna have to say, overall it wasn't as much of an encouragement to me. Not to say it wasn't a good meeting, but it just didn't do the amazing wonderful heart touching that the first meeting did. Mainly the time was spent answering questions for women wondering things about how to avoid too much testing on their newborn and themselves in the hospital, and kinda focusing, therefore, more on the negative aspects of healthcare. Also hearing a very unideal birth story, that could have scared my socks off. In the moment I was really tempted inside myself to start questioning a lot of my decisions I've made so far about how I plan to do this this time, just because the information was so heavy and intimidating. But I was able to stay really objective.
So I think what I liked most about having gone to this meeting was the realization that I just sat through a highly emotionally charged discussion, on a topic that had been my kryptonite, and was able to leave feeling totally ok. The worst feeling I had afterwords was just wishing I had experienced more encouragement. But I didn't have any worse feelings than that. Had I gone to this same meeting a few weeks/months sooner I would have left in a straight jacket!

So I guess my week started out with a promise of stability.



Monday night (Techincally week 31) I had to do a "Chiropractic Breakup." I had been seeing a chiropractor in town, and I thought he was doing a good job. But I was referred to a prenatal Chiropractor instead. Initially I didn't want to make the 50 min drive to see her, because I felt like it was gonna be too hard to coordinate with taking care of a toddler. But I went ahead and called the office and asked what they did to see if it would be worth it. It seemed like it. So I took the plunge and decided to switch.
It was fairly awkward telling my first Chiropractor what I was doing, since he and his wife actually used many of the same connections and providers for their children's birth that I plan on using for my birth. So I kinda felt like I was being extra insulting to say I was referred to someone else. And he did get a bit defensive and say he was doing the same things as the office I was planning on going to does, but he was a gracious as possible and said its about a healthy outcome for me and the baby. I felt kinda cruel thinking about it on the way home, but I knew what I really wanted to get out of this whole process, so I felt like I made the right call.

So then Thursday I went to my initial exam and first adjustment with the new prenatal Chiropractor. I was kinda nervous that I wouldn't be able to find the office seeing as how I don't know my way around Des Moines, but I made it there. I walked hesitantly down the street it was located on, as I had parked down a side street, and I wasn't exactly sure what door I would be going in. "Ok here it is." I open the door and am in a breezeway with a sign that says "Please take off your shoes." I stop and stand there a moment, not really sure what's going on. Then I notice the sign for the office says something like "Prenatal Chiropractor and Yoga." Now I'm not sure what I've gotten myself into. I keep my shoes on for a moment and walk through the door. There is the receptionist desk behind a wall with an open window to interact through.
The wall is painted in reds and purples and flesh.
It's wombs and babies.
In-utero-babies with placentas and umbilical cords, all floating in invisible amniotic fluid all around the window.


I take a deep breath.
I am not used to addressing pregnancy quite like this, even though I have been reading and researching and doing my best to embrace the earthy "real side" of  my womanhood.
My initial gut reaction is to think "Holy crap, I can't be here. I've just got myself in too deep. Why are there womb-babies on the wall?!?! I thought I was just getting my spin adjusted. The last place was beige and I could leave on my shoes... I don't know about this!"
But my deep breath brings in the memories of my new knowledge.
"This is natural."
"This is who we are as people... as women giving birth: real, gritty, messy, and totally unpristine, unmagazine, un-made-for-tv versions of our species. This is the side we try and ignore -- but it is part of who God made."
"I've decided to embrace the idea that my body is made to do this, its time to embrace the whole of it all. In-utero-babies and all... Not sure I'd paint them on my wall, but hey I can be in a room with them on the wall."
"All that Ina May you've been reading...you are a "hippy" now, Lydia, just jump in! No point in holding back part of you now over some paint!"

I ask, across the wide divide of wooden floor, designed for pre and post natal workouts, "Should I take off my shoes?"

They are left by the door.
And so is a lot of my pride and hangups.
(I've been leaving a lot of that stuff behind in many offices through out this pregnancy.)

So I met the new Chiropractor. And I love her. She was warm and so understanding. I felt, perhaps, like this was the first time I was heard. I almost felt like I had gone to a therapist session, just because she was the first person to meet my gaze and hear my words of "That was hard, so this is scary" and just see me and acknowledge me.
She didn't try to do much more for my emotions than listen. But it was the way she listened. It was invaluable. She did go on to tell me, in a non-band-aid like way, that many successful VBACs have followed chiropractic treatment, as well as faster, easier labors, and reduced pushing time.
Her attitude alone was enough for me to be glad I came. But her adjustments and knowledge were so much more baby focused than my last Chiropractor's. (I think seeing any chiropractor would be a great aid in aligning the body, which would be so helpful in labor, but I love that she knows so much about pregnancy.) She did more pelivic adjustments than he did, including a pelvic bone adjustment. She also felt the baby and told me exactly where she was and how she hoped to get to her to engage by 37 weeks. (The last chiropractor did not ever feel the baby once.) So I was really impressed.
She also gave me a lot of great prenatal advice and some exercises to do to help with the body and in labor.
AND... in this office they have a playroom right off the adjustment room so I can bring J and let her play while I get my adjustment. (Superb! That makes the drive totally possible!)

I was seriously so glad I came!

Friday I had a prenatal check up.
I got the ok on talking walks despite it bringing on any contractions. I was told once you've had a baby, everything is stretched out, so you feel more contractions and you can feel it down lower like I did in the birth canal without it being a big deal. So I'll be walking more. (I wanna see that 37 week engagement happen!)
The baby's still head down, she's not down very low yet, but thats ok.
I measured two centimeters big this time, but was told it was probably just that the baby was floating up high for now. (Besides the fact that plus or minus 2 cm is totally normal.)
Baby's heartrate was 140's- 150's.
Good News -- I'm still good to go on my Rh-negative stuff.
     I got checked to make sure I didn't get sensitized to the Rh-positive antigen between pregnancies, because if I had the shot would be pointless. But I was still fine. (It would be very, very rare for anyone who's gotten the shots during previous pregnancies to get sensitized, but they to check to be safe.) So I got to get my shot. Yay! :) Apparently this shot has only been around for something like 40 years -- so I'm very blessed to be living in this time! (Before the shot was around, ladies like me may have died in childbirth or never been able to have as many children as they would have liked, since my body's potentially sensitized blood would have attacked the new babies' blood.) So needless to say, I'm very happy to get the shot!
And that's my exciting news from my check up.

I didn't get to the pool as much as I should this week, but I did make it. On friday it was crazy! The night before I tried out my new core strengthening exercise from my chiropractor, it didn't feel too intense, but I could feel it. Well when I got in the pool the next morning, I quickly realized that I really use my core to swim! It doesn't usually feel like it, it usually seems like its all arms and legs. But wow, my abs (or what's left of them) were crazy tired and I could barely make it across the pool without sinking! So I honestly could only swim for 20 mins (not my usual 30) and with LONG breaks at each side of the pool.
At least I know those core strengthening exercises are effective!
And then when I got back in the pool on Monday I was swimming better than ever.
I'm going to have to switch my normal swim time, since the pool isn't open in the mornings for the summer. So I'll be swimming in the evenings now. (Maybe that's a good thing, since its been getting harder and harder to get up early lately.)


I'm personally not thrilled with this photo -- taken in a rush at the end of the day, but here ya go!

The belly must have only grown a half inch last week, because this week its measuring that, as well. (10.5 inches total growth.) Hips haven't grown any for quiet a while. (3 inches total) Maybe that's all for them. We'll see. I don't have a problem with them making room! They know what they need to do!
(And as weird as it sounds, bigger hips was one of my favorite post-pardum-body features last time. As smooshy as my belly was, I actually really liked the new dimensional difference between my natural waist and my hips -- I felt rather "Marilyn Monroe"... in a pillsbury doughboy kind of way. ;P )

Anyway, I'm still feeling pretty awesome physically. I had one sore spot on my back one day this week. Not bad. Other than that, I feel fine. No heartburn. (I guess its from carrying lower this time.) Hips haven't hurt. I feel big, but I don't feel that big -- like walking around is still pretty easy.
I was trying to think back to last time, but I don't think I have a good feel for when I felt what. I kinda only remember the last month of pregnancy and its hard to remember the earlier stuff. But I am pretty sure that by this point last time I was feeling way bigger and more achey than I am now. I think the difference this time is multifaceted. For one my body has already done this, so it knows what to do. For another I really think seeing a Chiropractor has taken away a lot of my small pains I was having/would be having. And last but not least being in the "healthy" range of weight and weight gain must be helping as well.

Blake was commenting to me last night how he thinks this pregnancy has been a cake walk for me physically compared to last time. I guess I would agree, but I have a hard time calling it a cake walk due to all my emotional distress I've endured so far! But since this week has gone so well emotionally, I'm hopeful that by the end I'd be willing to call it that.

The baby is getting stronger. When she wants to she can press really hard on my belly and make a bulge -- usually its under my right ribs. (The day I was at the Chiro, she said her feet were in that spot, but I think at other times its her butt. It just seems like whatever is right there, is sticking out!) But I say, when she wants to, because I still really think overall she's much more still than J was inside. I always am wondering "who she is", what her personality will be like. I don't really have a guess from her movements, but I keep trying to get some kind of idea. I'm hoping the "stillness" will equate to some sort of sleep for me, but we will see! :)



This photo makes me look like one of those people who can't put their phone down,but I was texting a photo of J in her "hat" (a towel turban, she insist on wearing after her bath) to granana. :)


J has been overwhelming me this week with her smarts. She is just saying more and more. I don't even know when to count it as new anymore, because she just keeps adding to it. She's been counting -- in order -- correctly! Its crazy! (I am sure that's because we count to 20 every night before I lay her in her crib.) And she's learning her letters. She will look at my computer keyboard and point to a key and say "Letter O" and be right! I almost passed out! She gets some wrong, but the fact that she gets so many right is totally shocking to me. She will point out letters in her books titles like "Goodnight Moon" and she was bringing me letters magnets off the fridge and telling me almost all of them right!
I can't believe it!

Oh but in other news, crayons and pens are now under lock and key as pen as wound up on her belly, and crayon on the wall and around the house! She's been told "only on paper" so now when she sees the crayon marks on things she says "paper" but I'm not sure she get's that what she is pointing at is not paper itself!